Passive Latrine use Monitor (PLUM)

Page selection:
  • stilmans
  • Environmental Engineer working on anaerobic systems and mobile sanitation; PhD in Env. Eng. on Resource Recovery from Waste

Re: Passive Latrine use Monitor (PLUM)

Hi Trevor,

The PLUM was designed by a consortium of researchers but to the best of my knowledge is now being further developed, deployed, and managed by the SWEETlab at Portland state university. More information about them and their various sensor and M&E systems are here: www.pdx.edu/sweetlab/sweetsense

Best,

Sebastien
resourcesanitation.com
The following user(s) like this post: tmsinnovation

Please Log in to join the conversation.

You need to login to reply
  • tmsinnovation
    Topic Author
  • I manage the Decentralized Wastewater Management for Adaptation to Climate Change in Jordan (ACC Project) and previously coordinated the Climate-friendly sanitation services in peri-urban areas of Lusaka project in Zambia. My background is in Management, Economics and Information Systems.

Passive Latrine use Monitor (PLUM)

Hi All

I came across this today during the Health and Hygiene 2013 conference in Chapel Hill.

I wanted to ask if anyone knows more about this "passive latrine use monitor (PLUM)" system, as the journal article has a "pay-wall" so I am not able to read the journal article?

Regards
Trevor

Accessed here: pubs.acs.org/doi/abs/10.1021/es2036702

Making sanitation count: developing and testing a device for assessing latrine use in low-income settings.
Clasen T, Fabini D, Boisson S, Taneja J, Song J, Aichinger E, Bui A, Dadashi S, Schmidt WP, Burt Z, Nelson KL.
Source: Department of Disease Control, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, London WC1E 7HT, United Kingdom.

Abstract