BIOUREA project concentrates on the use of urine as fertilizer in Finland

Page selection:
  • Karoliina
    Topic Author
  • I work as a Develoment Finance Manager at FELM, a Finnish NGO working on development aid projects. My backround is very much in the WASH sector, I worked in the Global Dry Toilet Association of Finland promoting dry toilet technologies, ecological sanitation and nutrient recycling.

Re: BIOUREA project concentrates on the use of urine as fertilizer in Finland

Dear Chris!

Warm thanks for your comment! This project concentrates maninly on how to use urine as a fertilizer from the farmers point of wiew, so everything has to be done acording to what the farmers are willing/able/have time to do. We wanted to test specifically how well urine is suited for the commercial agricultural use in Finland and weather the use of urine is as easy to the farmer as using chemical fertilizers. There are already quite a lot of interesting outcomes from the project and we have had to make some allowances in the practices to make it feasible for the farmers (such as applying the urine only once vs. the best practice, which would be applying the urine in at least two separate occasions).

I do agree with you that different concentrations / frequencies do affect the growth, depending on the cultivated plant, but Tampere University of Applied Sciences, among other actors, has done quite a lot of studies about this already. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any further questiosn, it's always very useful to get an outsiders feedback!!
The following user(s) like this post: canaday

Please Log in to join the conversation.

You need to login to reply
  • Karoliina
    Topic Author