Introducing John Sauer and PSI to SuSanA WG on Market Development

Page selection:
  • jsauer
  • Interested in sanitation market development and solving sanitation

Re: Introducing John Sauer and PSI to SuSanA WG on Market Development

Hi Jonathan, Thank you so much for the introduction and the questions.

To kick it off, I'm currently the senior technical advisor for WASH at PSI, which stands for Population Services International-- though these days PSI, while still active in contraception, is also working in multiple health areas including HIV and sexually transmitted infections, malaria, child health, maternal health and others. I've been working in the relief and development sector since 1993 and have been focused on WASH for the past 15 + years. At PSI I am primarily providing technical assistance to PSI’s platforms and local network members, including seeking to develop programmatic partnerships. I also work on new business for the sanitation program area.

My interest in WG2 is to support a community of practice focused on using making markets work for the poor (M4P) approaches for urban and rural sanitation that activate national and local government, private sector and civil society to deliver ongoing services. The idea is to find ways to learn from (and hopefully not repeat) mistakes and failure and accelerate progress towards the sanitation SDGs and find unique ways to work together.

PSI has recently become active in the sanitation market development space since 2012 in Bihar, India and are actively growing our portfolio in this area. We’ve now got another large program in Ghana, Benin and Cote d’Ivore and a newly started program in Senegal (our current portfolio is about $39 million cumulative in sanitation). We’ve also done some other sanitation marketing programs/human centered design/landscaping/BCC/hygiene work in Mali, Laos, Kenya, Malawi, Vietnam, Nepal, Ethiopia, Liberia, Madagascar, and Niger.