Pilot project on co-composting in Lokossa, Benin (GIZ)

15.3k views

Page selection:
  • AlexandraDubois
  • Administrator
  • Technical advisor specialized in water, sanitation and hygiene. I work for GIZ since 2012 and have gathered experience in the sub-Saharan region mainly. Since January 2022, I work as an advisor for the “Water Policy Sector Programme - Innovations for Resilience” in Bonn and I am part of the SuSanA secretariat.

Re: Wanted: New mentor for co-composting project in Benin! (pilot project by GIZ from 2012-2014)

Dear Elisabeth

Thank you very much for your reply to my post. I am sure that the group of gardeners would appreciate if they knew that we are discussing their case on an international forum. Yet, their access to the discussion platform would be a challenge, not only because of the language (most of them can't even speak french) but mainly because we are speaking about people of a certain generation in a rural environment.

I also believe that by translating some of the SuSanA material and documentation in French, we might open the floor to more members (especially for our partners from West Africa) and more participation in the forum, which will lead to a more accurate picture of the Sanitation situation worldwide. But, I am aware that a bilingual platform would require a massive effort... Maybe, starting small, with the translation of the main key documents and few relevant discussion threads...

Regarding the issue of the UDDT owners not willing to pay for the emptying service of their toilet, I think we have several scenarios: some people would rather emptying them themselves to save money, some are just not managing their toilets properly...
Alexandra Dubois

Technical Advisor
Sector Programme Water Policy – Innovations for Resilience
Division Climate Change, Environment & Infrastructure

GIZ │Deutsche Gesellschaft für
Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH
Friedrich-Ebert-Allee 32
53113 Bonn, Germany