Clearing trash from pit latrines-A new device

Page selection:
  • rochelleholm

Re: Clearing trash from pit latrines-A new device

Just a forum update that last week we wrapped up field testing of Dale's devices here in Mzuzu, Malawi, it is essential to test new devices on real pit latrines under real conditions. Both the successes and challenges we experienced will improve the final device designs. More updates on the field testing to be posted soon.
Rochelle Holm, Ph.D., PMP
Mzuzu (Malawi)
The following user(s) like this post: Elisabeth

Please Log in to join the conversation.

You need to login to reply
  • dandreatta
    Topic Author
  • I am a mechanical engineer and work for a consulting company. I do projects around water, cookstoves, and sanitation in my spare time.

Laura,

(We'll communicate offline about coming to Kigali.)

Thanks for the compliments. I forwarded them to my former students, who have now graduated and are starting their careers.

I'm generally familiar with "The Grabber". It appears to be similar to "The Claw" that was described in a paper by Holm, et. al. recently. Any of these devices should be able to be used without a long handle, by attaching a weight at the right location. Then the operation would be managed by two ropes, one for gripping and raising, and the other for opening the grip. The crabtrap could also be used with a weight. I started to work on a prototype grabber last night, and the weight arrangement seems to work well. I'll finish this work in a few days and post something more some time next week.

I imagine one could bend the screen of any of these devices to fit whatever squatting hole size was available. I'll also work on this feature.

Thanks,

Dale Andreatta
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Dale Andreatta, Ph.D., P.E.
Mechanical Engineer

• mst
  • Laura Stupin | Freelance Field Engineer | Kigali, Rwanda