Experiments regarding pit emptying devices and clog-proof toilet (mechanical toilet that uses little water) - Ohio, USA

Page selection:
  • dandreatta
    Topic Author
  • I am a mechanical engineer and work for a consulting company. I do projects around water, cookstoves, and sanitation in my spare time.

Re: Who is doing toilet and FSM product and technology design / R&D and what are you working on?

Hi,

Again, sorry for the slow response, my regular job and some other volunteer work has kept me busy lately.

Thank you for the complements. Sometimes having a limited budget saves time by forcing one to work efficiently. Since Christoph has made the most comments, I'll respond mostly to his comments.

First, the 3 videos I presented are 3 separate ideas, they can be used together or separately. The pasteurization ideas (not shown in videos) are other separate ideas.

The pit emptying device has been developed further since the video was made. It certainly does need to be improved in durability and some other things, at this point I'm working on the basic idea to make it functional. There will be videos of better versions coming soon. The newest version is much more compact. To dump the bucket requires only gravity, as about 2/3 of the bucket is beyond the pivots. Pulling on the rope pivots the bucket up, and releasing the rope allows gravity to pivot the bucket down. It seems to work well for both very liquid sludge and more solid sludge. One thing I will do soon is find out how solid the sludge can be, as I have gotten feedback that sometimes the sludge is very solid, almostly like dirt.